The light

At night when all the lights are off, when the house is quiet, when everyone’s sleeping, when you could hear a pin drop if someone would listen, when life is so good but so bad because your not here to it enjoy with us, I finger the chain around my neck with charms all from you, I wrap myself in the colorful shawl that’s once kept your shoulders warm, I look back at all my old posts feeling sad because their all sad because I can’t write about things that make happy. You made me happy, you made us happy, that’s why we all miss you, you where our light, and when you died, that light died with you. When I see grandpa there’s something different about him, like everyday he’s struggling to not give up, like after your funeral, that light, it just left.

Leave a Reply

